government agencies. The Tariffs, Trade and Aid Branch is concerned with trade policy and development, the Canadian aid program and customs' tariffs. The Economic Analysis, Fiscal Policy and International Finance Branch monitors the economy, analyzes the potential impact of various alternative courses for government fiscal policy and participates on Canada's behalf in a number of international organizations, including the International Monetary Fund. The Long Range Economic Planning Branch is responsible for co-ordinating, planning and developing medium- and long-term economic measures and policies. The Capital Markets Division is responsible for monitoring developments in capital markets and advising on the government's debt operations. The Inspector General of Banks is an office of the Department. In addition, the following agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance: The Anti-dumping Tribunal, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Industrial Development Bank, the Department of Insurance and the Tariff Board. The Minister of Finance acts as spokesman in Parliament for the Auditor General.

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development was established in June 1966, superseding the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources; it now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.I-7. In 1968 the Department was reorganized, creating, in addition to departmental support services and an Engineering and Architectural Branch, three distinct program areas. The Indian and Eskimo Affairs Program includes education, community affairs, economic development for Indians and Inuit and Indian trust administration. The Northern Affairs Program covers the management of all natural resources north of the 60th parallel except game, the protection of the northern environment, government activities in the field of economic development and support of the territorial governments in providing social and other local services. Parks Canada is responsible for National Parks, National Historic Parks and Sites, historic waterways, wild rivers and byways.

The Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and the Commissioner of the Yukon Territory report to Parliament through the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The Minister is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission, the National Battlefields Commission and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce. In 1969, the Departments of Industry and of Trade and Commerce were merged to form the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce (ITC), which operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.I-11. ITC promotes the establishment, growth and efficiency of manufacturing, processing and tourist industries in Canada and fosters the development of Canadian trade. The Department plans and carries out programs to assist manufacturing and processing industries in adapting to new technology and changing market conditions, in developing unrealized potential and in rationalizing productive facilities and corporate structures. It promotes product and process development, increased productivity, greater use of research, modern equipment, improved industrial design, the application of advanced technology and modern management techniques, and the development and application of sound industrial standards in Canada and in world trade.

In addition, the Department's functions include: improving access of Canadian goods and services into external markets through trade negotiations; contributing to the improvement of world trading conditions; providing support services for industrial and trade development, including information, import analysis and traffic services; analyzing the implications for Canadian industry, trade and commerce and for tourism of government policies related thereto in order to contribute to the formulation and review of those policies; and compiling and updating detailed information on trends and developments in Canada and abroad related to the manufacturing and processing and tourist industries.

The Department is organized into seven major functional groups: Office of Tourism, Industry Development, Industrial Policies, Export Development, International Trade Relations, Planning, Research and Evaluation, and Administration. The Office of Tourism includes the Travel Industry Branch and the Canadian Government Travel Bureau. The Industry Development component is made up of seven Industry Development Branches which cover the major industry groupings in Canada: Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Products; Textiles and Consumer Products; Chemicals; Electrical and Electronics; Machinery; Resource Industries and Construction; and Transportation Industries. The Industrial Policies segment includes the Office of Science and Technology, the Office of the Industrial Policy and the Office of Design and Productivity Analysis. The Export Development section comprises International Financing, Grains Marketing Office, Office of Transportation Policy and Office of Export Programs and Services. Reporting to the International Trade Relations sector is the Office of General Relations, the Office of Special Import Policy and the Export/Import Permits Division. Administration is responsible for Finance, Personnel, Office of Information and Public Relations, Program Planning and the Professional and Administrative Services Branch. In addition, the Department operates 10 regional offices across Canada and the Trade Commissioner Service which has 89 trade offices in 63 countries.

The Minister also reports to Parliament on behalf of Statistics Canada and the Export Development Corporation. Boards and other organizations reporting to the Minister are the General Adjustment Assistance Board, the Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, the Pharmaceutical Industry